Modern Christian writers

Home Forums Urantia Book General Discussions Modern Christian writers

7 sujets de 1 à 7 (sur un total de 7)
  • Auteur
    rooney
    Participant

I am going to be a participate  in a study group at a local church of which everybody has to make a suggestion for reading.

Does anybody know of any Modern Christian writers    (preferably ones that can relate to the general laymen )   that give no reference to the Urantia book but have developed concepts that coordinate with that of the Urantia book ?

Angela
    Participant

Hi Rooney,

If you are looking for a book to read in a study group that is spiritual in its focus, aiming to enrich our connection with others, improve our understanding and contribute to the well-being of ourselves and others – then can I suggest a book first published in 1999, with 3rd edition 2015, so I guess it is pretty « modern ». It is called Non-Violent Communication: A Language of Life, by Marshall Rosenberg. I studied chapter by chapter with eight others in a Study Group. Thich Nhất Hanh said « As powerful as compassionate communication can be when we use it in our individual relationships, its power is magnified when we bring it to our communities… A community that is committed to mindful speech and deep listening can be very effective in making society better. » Thich Nhất Hanh, The Art Of Communicating, p.129.

From the Introduction:

« Nonviolent Communication (NVC) is a giving and receiving of messages
    that centers on two very important questions: What’s alive in us?
    and What can we do to make life more wonderful?
    Based on the crucial role of language and our use of words, NVC is a
    specific approach to communicating –speaking and listening- that
    leads us to give from the heart allowing our natural compassion to
    flourish.
    It requires great honesty and openness, developing a certain
    literacy of expressions, and overcoming deeply ingrained learning